AUTO RACING: NASCAR heads to Illinois; IndyCar in Detroit


Denny Hamlin celebrates at Victory Lane after winning a NASCAR Cup Series auto race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Sunday, May 29, 2022, in Concord, North Carolina (AP Photo/Matt Kelley)


All times Eastern


Enjoy the Illinois 300

Location: Madison, Illinois.

Time: Friday, practice, 5:05 p.m.; Saturday, qualifying, 11 a.m.; Sunday, race, 3:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: World Wide Technology Raceway.

Race distance: 240 laps, 300 miles.

Last year: First visit for the series.

Final Race: Denny Hamlin edged Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch in overtime to win the Coca-Cola 600 for his second win of the season and 48th of his career.

Fast facts: Hamlin’s victory came in the longest race in NASCAR history: 619.5 miles in five hours, 13 minutes with Hamlin beating Busch by 0.014 seconds. … He joined Kevin Harvick as the only active drivers to win the Daytona 500, Coca-Cola 600 and Southern 500. … Chase Elliott leads the points standings by 34 over Ross Chastain and 37 over Busch in 14 races.

Next race: June 12, Sonoma, California.



Pacific Office 147

Location: Portland, Oregon.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 1:05 p.m. and qualifications, 8:05 p.m.; Saturday, race, 4:30 p.m. (FS1).

Circuit: Portland International Raceway.

Race distance: 75 laps, 147.5 miles.

Last year: First visit for the series.

Last race: Josh Berry pulled away and beat Ty Gibbs by more than 18 seconds in Concord, North Carolina.

Fast facts: Berry’s second win saw him join Gibbs (3) and Noah Gragson (2) as the only multiple winners this season through 13 races. … JR Motorsports has now won 10 consecutive stages, extending its series record. … Points leader AJ Allmendinger’s top-10 streak ended at 12 when he finished 19th. He leads Gragson by 33 points and Gibbs by 40.

Next race: June 25, Nashville, Tennessee.



Toyota 200

Location: Madison, Illinois.

Time: Friday, practice, 6:05 p.m., and qualifications, 6:35 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m.

Track: World Wide Technology Raceway.

Race distance: 160 laps, 200 miles.

Last year: Sheldon Creed won after starting fourth.

Last race: Ross Chastain won in overtime in Concord, North Carolina, edging Grant Finallyger by 0.102 seconds.

Fast facts: Chastain became the third non-regular to win in 10 races this season, joining part-time driver Corey Heim and Cup regular William Byron. … Carson Hocevar led a record 57 laps in the race and had a lead of up to six seconds, but crashed out in the first overtime and finished 16th. … John Hunter Nemechek leads defending series champion Ben Rhodes by seven points and Zane Smith by 25.

Next race: June 11, Sonoma, California.



Last race: Red Bull’s Sergio Perez won a rain-spoiled race in Monaco for his first victory of the season and fifth for the team in seven races. He signed a contract extension two days later.

Next race: June 12, Baku, Azerbaijan.



Chevrolet Grand Prix of Detroit

Location: Detroit.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 3:30 p.m.; Saturday, practice, 8:30 a.m. and qualifying, 12:35 p.m.; Sunday, warm-up, 10:15 a.m., and race, 3:30 p.m. (USA).

Circuit: Belle Isle street circuit.

Race distance: 74 laps, 164.5 miles.

Last year: Marcus Ericsson won the opening race of a double weekend and Patricio O’Ward won the final.

Last race: Ericsson beat O’Ward in a restart with two laps to go and won the Indianapolis 500 for his third career victory in 52 starts.

In short: Ericsson climbed to the top of the points standings in six races with the win, 13 ahead of O’Ward and 14 ahead of defending champion Alex Palou. … The victory was the fifth in the 500 for team owner Chip Ganassi. … Ericsson is the second Swede to win the Indy 500 in 106 races, after 1999 winner Kenny Brack.

Next race: June 12, Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.



Last event: Brittany Force won in Top Fuel and Robert Hight won in Funny Car in Virginia.

Next event: June 3-5, Epping, New Hampshire.



Upcoming events: June 3, Grand Forks, North Dakota, and June 5, Brandon, South Dakota.



More AP Auto Racing: and

Source link

Sandy A. Greer